Noteworthy Films & TV Shows Now on DVD/Blu-ray

Wednesday’s new DVD releases from MovieFanFare offers up an assortment of terrific new DVD and Blu-ray releases including People Like Us (2012), and Channing Tatum and Rachel McAdams starring the The Vow (2012). 

The Twilight Saga- Breaking Dawn, Part 2 People Like Us (2012) The Vow (2012)
The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn People Like Us The Vow


The Master (2012)

Inspired in part by the life of L. Ron Hubbard and the phenomenon of Scientology, writer/director Paul Thomas Anderson’s enigmatic drama set in the 1950s focuses on a sailor (Joaquin Phoenix) whose personal demons follow him after his military service. His chance meeting with the leader (Philip Seymour Hoffman) of an idiosyncratic religious group leads to his tumultuous attempt to reinvent himself. Amy Adams, Jesse Plemons co-star.

The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn, Part 2 (2012)

The big-screen adaptation of author Stephenie Meyer’s “Twilight” books concludes in epic fashion as the now-vampiric Bella (Kristen Stewart) is trained by husband Edward (Robert Pattinson) in the ways of the undead. Their honeymoon ends when they are called upon to protect their enigmatic new daughter from Volturi leader Aro (Michael Sheen), who fears the girl cannot be trusted among them–leading to a fang-tastic final showdown. With Taylor Lautner, Billy Burke, and Kellan Lutz.

People Like Us (2012)

After his father dies, New York salesman Sam (Chris Pine) reluctantly travels to Los Angeles for the funeral and the work involved in the dispensation of his estate. A large sum of cash left inside a shaving kit soon brings him into contact with a young woman (Elizabeth Banks) and her son (Michael Hall D’Addario)–leading to a complex relationship involving secrets, suffering, and generosity. With Michelle Pfeiffer, Olivia Wilde, and Philip Baker Hall.

The Carol Burnett Show: This Time Together

Three episodes–guest-starring Sammy Davis, Jr., Roddy McDowall, Bernadette Peters, and Dick Van Dyke–are featured in this release.

The Vow (2012)

Channing Tatum and Rachel McAdams are the perfect Chicago couple–until a terrible car accident robs her of her memory and she awakens from a coma believing she is still engaged to a former boyfriend. With no recall of Tatum nor their happy marriage, she faces tough choices as her parents see the incident as a possible blessing in disguise, even while a man she now regards as a stranger tries to restore her love for him.  Scott Speedman, Sam Neill, and Jessica Lange co-star.

Yogi’s Gang: The Complete Series (1973)

A “Who’s Zoo” of the Hanna-Barbera character roster populated this Saturday morning offering that aired on ABC. Yogi and Boo-Boo, having had their fill of pollution and the rest of mankind’s foibles and follies, gathered up Huckleberry Hound, Quick Draw McGraw, Snagglepuss, Wally Gator, and dozens of other animated animals as the crew of a flying ark on a quest for “the perfect place.”

House: Season Eight (2011)

All 22 episodes from the eighth season–including “Twenty Vicodin,” “Parents,” “Love Is Blind,” “We Need The Eggs,” and the series finale “Everybody Dies”–are featured in a five-disc set.

Border Run (2012)

In this hard-charging drama inspired by true events, Sharon Stone portrays a right-wing TV journalist who gets mixed up in a dangerous investigation below the U.S.-Mexico border after her brother, a relief worker, mysteriously vanishes.  Will her crusade to expose liberals soft on immigration policy make her a target? Can she trust anyone to help her get to the truth…and will she recognize the truth when she sees it? Billy Zane, Miguel Rodarte also star.

Eureka: Season 5 (2012)

All 13 episodes from the fifth (and final) season–including “Lost,” “The Real Thing,” “Friendly Fire,” “In Too Deep,” and the series finale “Just Another Day…”–are featured in a three-disc set.

Fairly Legal: Season One (2012)

All 10 episodes from the debut season–including the “Pilot,” “Benched,” “The Two Richards,” “Coming Home,” and “Bridges”–are featured in a three-disc set.

Psych: The Complete Sixth Season (2011)

All 16 episodes from the sixth season–including “Shawn Rescues Darth Vader,” “Last Night Gus,” “Let’s Doo-Wop It Again,” “True Grits,” and “Santabarbaratown”–are featured in a four-disc set.